Essay Writing Sample: Ludwig van Beethoven
Posted by: Write My Essay on: April 26, 2019

Essay Writing Sample: Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 5 by Gustavo Dudamel

Sample by My Essay Writer


Gustavo Dudamel is a Venezuelan violinist and conductor who is the music director of the Los Angeles Philarmonic and the OrquestaSinfónicaSimón Bolívar (Simón Bolívar Youth Orchestra). Dudamel is well known for his advocacy for social development through music and his commitment to working with young people in his Venezuela. Conducting the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra at the Philharmonie de Paris in 2015, Dudamel delivers a sterling performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67

The Philharmonie de Paris is expensive and was surprisingly full with lovers of Beethoven’s work apparently anticipating the performance. The dimmed lights on the sections where the audience sat contrasted with a brightly lit stage ensured the focus of the audience was solely in the performance. The members of the orchestra seemed rather pensive, dressed in the traditional attire; black tuxedos and white bow ties that presented a neat picture and alluded to the skillfulness expected of the performance of such a legendary piece. Each member played his or her instrument with an intensity that matched that of the conductor. Dudamel appeared to be rather at ease, often seeming gleeful at certain points in the symphony. His dramatic style was evident in his motions as he was conducting the symphony, often leaning to the side with dramatic flair at the crescendos and climatic parts of the movement. While hugely entertaining, his movements had a precision that spoke of a seasoned conductor. [Write my essay for me?” Get help here]

The audience present for the performance was as responsive as it was completely consumed by the performance. The silence that signaled the beginning of the symphony was alternated with brief episodes of reactions from the audience. The most noticeable reaction was that of extreme silence during the transmission from the third to the fourth movement, the theater became so quiet one would be tempted to think the entire audience had held their breath for the two minutes the silence lasted. By the end of the performance, the audience looked eager for the final note so that they could stand up and give the raucous applause that followed the exemplary performance.

The symphony which was composed by Beethoven during his most productive years (1804-1805) was scored in this performance for two trumpets, piccolo (fourth movement only). Three trombones (alto, tenor, and bass, fourth movement only), two flutes, timpani (in G-C), two oboes, two clarinets in B? and C, two bassoons, double bassoon (fourth movement only), two horns in E? and Cand strings. The symphony has the following four movements:[Need an essay writing service? Find help here.]
Allegro con brio which is the first movement, opens with a four-note motif famous in Western music. It starts with two dramatic fortissimo phases that command the listener’s attention. After the first four bars, imitations and sequences expand the theme by following each other in a rhythmic regularity. A short fortissimo played by horns follows soon after before the introduction of the E?major theme which is more lyrical and makes use of the piano and the string accompaniment featuring the four-note motif. The bridge and a brief solo passage of the oboe precede the end of the first movement.

Andante con moto is the second movement which is a lyrical bit in double variation form. It is in A? major that presents two themes and varies their alteration. They are followed by an extended coda which ends the movement.

Scherzo Allegro is the ternary form which makes up the third movement. It contains the central scherzo, the contrasting trio section, the return of the scherzo, and a coda. This movement goes back to the opening C minor key that is played by the cello and double basses. The horns then introduce the main theme of motion.

Allegro, the fourth movement presents an exhilarating finale and begins without a pause from the transition. The music resounds in C major instead of C minor which is expected to finish this key. This triumphant finale is an unusual variant as the music halts and continues after a pause with a reprise of the horn. A crescendo similar to that introduced at the opening of the movement signals the completion of the piece.

The concert leaves one with the feeling that comes with having witnessed something so great that it cannot possibly be adequately described with words. This performance not only reminds one of the reasons Beethoven is a musical legend but also the ability of modern composers to give his works the exemplary performance that it deserves. [Click Essay Writer to order your essay]


Work Cited

“Ludwig Van Beethoven – Symphony No. 5 | Gustavo Dudamel [HD].”YouTube, 15 Mar. 2015,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *